Thursday, March 5, 2009

Afternoon Classics - Thursday, March 5, 2009

Today's program will open where we left off yesterday - with the new release by Kenneth Tse and Nobuya Sugawa, saxophonists par excellence. There was not enough time yesterday to finish the piece so we will repeat it here. Once again the artistry of these two and the music of the new composers really took my breath away.
Katoh: Oriental (2008) Kenneth Tse & Nobuya Sugawa saxophones Kazuo Marakami - piano.
Bach: Goldberg Variation No. 13, BWV 998, played by Simone Dinnerstein on the piano.
Vivaldi: Concerto Grosso in A minor, RV 522, performed by the ensemble "Red Priese."
  --- Concerto in C minor for Cello, Strings & Basso Continuo, RV 401, Yo-Yo Ma on the cello, Ton Koopman at the basso continuo and conducting the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra.
  --- The Nightmare Concerto "La Nottte" RV 439, once again performed by Red Priest.
Rimsky- Korsakov: Concerto for Piano & Orchestra Op. 30, Jeffrey Campbell at the piano and Gilbert Levine condcting the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
  ---  Le Coq d'or Suite, Mikhail Pletnev conducting the Russian National Orchestra.
Ippolitov-Ivanov: Procession of the Sarder from Caucasian Sketches.
Prokofiev: March from "The Love for Three Oranges".
Rimsky-Korsakov: Fandango from "Capriccio Espagnol" all three of these by the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra under the baton of Erich Kunzel.
Ravel: String Quartet in F major, Quatuor Yzaÿe performing.
Bolcom: Lyric Concerto, James Galway on flute, James Levine 
Ravel: Mother Goose Suite
  ---   Suite No. 2 from Daphnis et Chloe
  --- Bolero,  the last three played by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Paavo Järvi.

No comments: