Saturday, January 28, 2012

Afternoon Classics, January 27, 2012

Hosted by Larry West

Johann Sebastian Bach, Orchestral Suite No. 1 in C, BWV 1066 (~1717-1723)
Oregon Bach Festival Chamber Orchestra, Helmuth Rilling
Hänssler Classic 2011

Joseph Brackett, Simple Gifts (1843)
Dale Warland Singers, Dale Warland
Gothic Records 2010

Heinrich von Herzogenberg, Trio in D, Op. 61 for piano, oboe & horn (by 1889)
József Kiss, oboe; Jénö Jandó, piano; Jenö Keveházi, French horn
Naxos 1993

Samuel Barber, Reincarnations, Op. 16 (1940)
Dale Warland SingersDale Warland
Gothic Records 2010

Anders Koppel, Tuba Concerto (2003)
Dacapo 2011

Carol Barnett, The Last Invocation (1988)
Dale Warland SingersDale Warland
Innova 2011

Max Bruch, String Quintet in a (1919)
Vadim Gluzman, violin, with members of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra: Sandis Steinbergs, violin; Ilze Klava & Maxim Rysanov, viola; Reinis Birznieks, cello
BIS 2011

Sergei Prokofiev, Sinfonietta in A, Op. 5 (1909/1914)
Chandos 1986

Fernando Sor, Variations for guitar on "Marlborough s'en va-t-en-guerre," Op. 28 (by 1827)
Madacy Distribution 2006

Charles Ives, Psalm 90 for chorus, bells & organ (1894-1924)
Dale Warland SingersDale Warland
Gothic Records 2010

Next week on Afternoon Classics, William Alwyn's Winter Poems, Beethoven's Horn Sonata, Op. 17, and symphonies by Haydn and Robert Casadesus.

No comments: